Purchasing Power: Here’s How $100 is Worth in Each State

Screen Shot 2014-08-19 at 3.36.40 PMThis is totally random, but I dig this graph that compares how much $100 is worth in each state. I immediately thought of my girlfriends and their residences along the East Coast.

  • D.C. $84.60 
  • N.C. $109.17
  • O.H. $112.11

Graphs like this remind me that life isn’t created equal across the states. And, of course, I’d like to live a little while in an area where I won’t get the most bang for my buck. When I was looking for jobs at the end of grad school, I used this handy dandy Cost of Living Calculator from CNN Money to compare my current and ideal locations. I’d need a whopping $23,000 MORE in salary to live in D.C. I promptly realized that I needed to keep my a$$ where I was until I got a more solid financial footing.

I also read that a child born in 2013 costs $245,340 to raise. OMG! I’m keeping my A$$ childless for a while, too.

Leave a comment