Is My Debt Payoff Too Aggressive? + Debt Snowball Progress for August 2015

Slaying my credit card debt is one of my top goals. I plan to be well done before my 30th birthday. What a great gift, right?

I discussed this with a friend as we were kayaking, and he thought that was a great goal. Then he told me that he had discussed maxing out his Roth IRA contribution with his girlfriend and encouraged her to do the same this year. Apparently, his girlfriend’s parents offer a matching contribution.

“Must be nice,” I thought.

I wish my parents were in a position of wealth and power to offer those types of incentives for me and my brothers. It made me think about the legacy I want to leave and why it’s important to stop paying for past mistakes (credit card debt) as soon as possible, so I can start investing more money for the future.

During my mid-year checkup with my financial planner, he grew concerned at my aggressive debt payoff strategy. I’m paying $350 more than the minimum on those cards. He’d prefer that I shuffle over more money into the Roth IRA. Who knows how long the government will keep that option available?

I definitely here what he’s saying. Plus, I’m starting to feel the pinch. Medical bills are rolling in from my surgery 10 weeks ago, and it seems as if my car, Penny, is guzzling up a good amount of gas. My small pot of discretionary income seems to be shrinking mightily, so I’ve started taking out a weekly allowance in cash to live on. Living on cash again is an eye-opener!

But I remain steadfast in my resolve because it will only take four months to get rid of Credit Card No. 2. Then just another 6 months or so to get rid of the third and final card.

I’ve started to say money affirmations daily to keep my spirits up and stay in a mindset of abundance—not lack. Things are going to turn around. I’m upward bound! (Oh, that rhymed!)

Debt Snowball Progress for August 2015

Leave a Reply

