Post-Christmas Thoughts: 7 Ways to Save for Next Christmas

This weekend, my aunts, mom and I went to the local Walmart (a.k.a. Wally World) to pick up a few items. New Jersey aunt picked up matching sets of a scooter and Hello Kitty nail polish for my young twin cousins.

She looked up at me to find a quizzical stare.

“I found the girls Christmas presents for next year,” she said, smiling.

They you go. The items were on clearance for a fraction of the original price. I could learn a thing or two from New Jersey Aunt. She knows how to work a sale. She gifted me a baaaad Guess moto jacket originally priced for $300. I don’t know how much she paid for it, but I’m grateful.

The things is: I didn’t get anyone Christmas gifts this year—not even Grandma.

  1. I didn’t want to deal with the hustle and bustle of buying gifts.
  2. I didn’t want to spend the money.

My oldest aunt called me a Scrooge-let. In years past, I made sure to give presents to at least 7 or 8 relatives or close friends.

My youngest aunt gifted me a pair of boots on super sale at Belk’s on Thanksgiving Night. With all of the discounts, they ended up costing her less than $11. I offered to pay her when she found them at the store, but she didn’t take the money. So I gave her a huge kiss on the cheek and exclaimed, “Thank you!”

Youngest Aunt was not having my idea of not giving Christmas presents, especially to her.

I felt a bit guilty, but then I got pinged to pay my renter’s insurance and the fee for my website. So that took $270 out of my account this month. There went the Christmas funds…if I had decided to buy any gifts.

So next year, I’ll be more prepared. I think I’ll be in the giving mood.

While scrolling through Pinterest today, I saw this comprehensive blog post: 7 Ways to Save for Christmas Next Year…Now.

One way to start buying on Christmas clearance now like New Jersey Aunt; another way, to create a dedicated savings fund. My credit union offers that option. The tips are common sense tips, but it all comes down to implementing them. Ready, set, go!

Leave a Reply

