One step forward, two steps back

I was feeling pretty optimistic about life until I started receiving medical bills for an annual checkup and extra tests. Then last week, I took my car to get repaired. Of course, that bill was sky high. I had to put that on a card.

I need to rant.

I really thought I was making headway with paying down credit. Then even more debt piled on within a two-week period, making a mountain out of a molehill.

Ughhh! So now I’m thinking about depleting my emergency savings to pay the medical bills, getting on a payment plan and/or negotiating the bill. Decisions, decisions. I see why so many people can go into bankruptcy because of medical bills.

This morning, this bleak story caught my eye. Headline: Student debt holds back many would-be home buyers. It was too real. This weekend, I caught up with old friends and said I’d like to buy a home within five years, but I’m afraid I won’t be able to do it on my own.

I’m trying to focus on my blessings – the fact that I have medical insurance, a mode of transportation, a job I like, great friends and family, clothes on my back and so on. But issues with money – or the lack thereof – have clouded the sun.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

