Day 21: Finanical Freedom [THE END]

Main Point: If you really want to know what you value, look at where you spend your money.

Today’s assignment:

  1. Calculate how much you’ve saved by not spending during these last 21 days.
  2. Encourage at least one other person to go through the fast.
  3. Starting tomorrow, begin keeping your 30-day journal.

What I wanted to buy today, but didn’t:

I didn’t buy the car wash, but I did get the Jello Pudding and the cookies that were on sale. That’s my little reward for spending this cash.

What was easy about today?

It was easy not to return my friend’s generosity with something that I had to spend money on. It’s OK just to send her a thank you card for having me over for the Super Bowl party.

What was hard about today?

It was hard to not get that pudding and cookies, but it’s the last day. It was my reward.

What did I learn from today’s chapter?

N/A.

What I was feeling today about my finances?

I feel very accomplished. I really stuck to this. Like really. I only used my debit card twice and that was during this last weekend for necessities. The only time I flubbed up with eating out was the day my furnace died, I left my lunch on the table and jetted out of my apartment. I used what I had when folks invited me to their dinner parties. I don’t think I stepped foot in Target. Going in there was one of my favorite pastimes, which really means of my biggest timesucks and money drains. Target really knew how to target me.

Here are the non-essentials I spent money on:

  • Eating Out $6.83
  • Clothes $0
  • Hair $0
  • Entertainment $0

At the beginning of the fast, I left my debit card at home and froze the few charge cards and credit cards. Then I went to the bank and withdrew $300. I still have … left in cash. Woot woot!

Leave a Reply

