Day 15: Guard Against Greed

Main Point: Greed blocks your path to prosperity.

Today’s assignment: Take an inventory of what you own to guard against wanting more. Be on the lookout for things that pull me in the direction of greed.

What I wanted to buy today, but didn’t:

Nothing really.

What was easy about today?

It was easy to stick to homecooked meals after, well, cooking some meals at home and packing them up. I’m glad I’ll essentially have free meals at work on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. It’s going to be a good week.

What was hard about today?

It was hard to figure out whether i wanted to pay off a debt in full before the interest kicked in. The six-month mark was coming up on this promotional deal. I kept playing with the numbers in my bank account and what I expected from the my job and freelance gigs.

I talked to the credit union representative again about consolidating debt. I’ve read that three out of four people end up paying the consolidation loan and more credit card bills because they rack up more debt again. They get a false sense of security and fall back into poor habits. I deferred the loan for now, telling the representative that I wanted to try Michelle’s Debt Dash Plan first. The smallest debt is paid now – $28.42. It’s a start.

What did I learned from today’s chapter?

I never connected greed and fraud until I read this chapter, but it makes sense. It’s unfortunate that people think they can get a huge return on a low-risk, small investment. But I thought about how that occurs in my left. I guess I just thought the debt would go away eventually without really scrimping and working hard to reduce it. I’ve learned my lesson now.

Taking stock of what we have in our closets, cabinets and drawers would really open our eyes to the excess we live in each day.

What I was feeling today about my finances?

I felt empowered today. Having the Debt Dash Plan makes me eager to pay off debts. I underestimate the power planning and organization can give you.

Leave a Reply

