Day 10: Marrying Your Money

Main Point: Together as one you can become better stewards of your money.

Today’s assignment: If you are not married, make a list of the financial qualities you would like to have in a mate. Now, create a list of the financial issues you have and would like to improve upon before getting married.

A list of financial qualities I’d like to have in a mate:

  • Financial stability
  • Patience (This sort of goes along with being patient with me and what I’m dealing with and, also, being patient enough to see money grow over time, such as savings.)
  • Good stewardship
  • Thriftiness

A list of financial issues I have and would like to improve upon before getting married:

  • Eliminating credit card debt so I’m not wasting money on high interest and living paycheck to paycheck
  • Sticking to a budget
  • Refusing impulse buys (Discerning between needs and wants)
  • Divorcing my finances from my family
  • Learning how to give with purpose

What I wanted to buy today, but didn’t:

I wanted to buy chips. I really wanted that crunchy, salty texture. Luckily, a coworker had some sweet potato chips that satisfied the urge.

What was easy about today?

It was easy to eat my prepared meals.

What was hard about today?

It was hard to tell my friends that I most likely won’t make our bi-weekly trivia night because of the $3 entry fee. A rule is a rule, right. Now, I’m questioning a drink my friend bought me on Saturday night.

I also forgot to take out my salmon last night, so it didn’t have time to thaw before dinner. So I had to eat the pasta shells I meant to have for dinner tomorrow night. Then I remembered that I’ll get pizza at a chat ‘n’ chew with students. I ended up making 9 extra pasta shells from the cheese, spinach and ground turkey filling I had left over.

What did I learn from today’s chapter?

I learned that House Rules and talking about finances can make or break a union. These are really good ideas. I’m still not sure about the bank account situation though. I’m fine with joint accounts for household bills and whatnot, but I’d also like for each of us to have individual account. I feel like that’s easier to manage, but what do I know.

Michelle had a great lunchtime Twitter chat, in which I asked here when is the right time for mates to look at each other’s finances. She said the first date is too soon, and the honeymoon’s too late. Discuss finances when you start getting serious and thinking about a future together.

Day 10 Twitter Chat

What I was feeling today about my finances?

I feel down, but not out. I just did adjusted my budget again and did my networth statement. I don’t like the way things are adding up, but at least I know where I stand. That’s the whole point of these exercise – to take a hard look at yourself and see where you can improve.

Side note: Here’s are some interesting takse on having the money talk before marriage and 10 points couples should discuss during the money talks.

Leave a Reply

